ival v

David Zucker and Circa Laughs present

Celebrate on Thursday, May 25th at the Skirball Center

1st Annual Laugh Out Loud (LOLY) Awards

Co-Hosted by comedy icon David Zucker and Circa Laughs, please join us at the Festival to explore the state of comedy in this digital age, enjoy video screenings and fun discussions, submit your comedy video submissions for Awards consideration, and join us at day’s end for our Cocktail and Awards Party with special comic guests, and the 1st Annual Laugh Out Loud (LOLY) Awards presentation to selected participants, all shown on Facebook LIVE.


See Comedy Festival Video Nominees - Click Here

This page may load slowly - please be patient (lots of videos are on this page)

Thursday, May 25th

The Comedy Festival

12:30-1:30pm, Herscher Hall, Guerin A

Hollywood? We Don't Need No Stinkin' Hollywood:  A new birth of comic freedom


Randy Sherman, Moderator

Curt Marvis (The QYou),

Dashiell Driscol (Funny or Die/Social),

Sam Weller (Bent Pixel),

Justin Donaldson (Tournament of Nerds, UCB)

Ellie Shojah (Writer, Producer),

Matt Lieberman (Discovery Digital Networks)








1:45-2:30pm, Herscher Hall, Guerin A

360 Degree Comedy - Can VR/AR make content funnier?

Kibbitzers: Randy Sherman, Moderator

Bob Zucker, Jaunt VR

David Zucker, Director of Personnel, Circa Laughs

John Canning (VP, NBC Interactive)

Ted Schilowitz (Head VR, Fox),

Richard Lucquet (Verizon),

Nora Kirkpatrick (Writer/Director/Actor, Hulu/RYOT)

Tehran (Comic, Global Observer)









2:45-3:45pm, Herscher Hall, Guerin A

It’s a LIVE! Everybody’s getting into the LIVE act


Joe Dobbyn (moderator),

Cameron Rice (Hyper RPG, Geek & Sundry),

Cyrus Ghahremani (Head, SuperDeluxe LIVE),

Joanne & DW Brown (Producers/Actors/Teachers),

Maddox (Author, Comedian),

Josh McCleary (Audience Delivered)










4:00-5:00pm, Herscher Hall, Guerin A

100 Year Comic Evolution:

From Chaplin to Digital


David S. Zucker,

Hal Rudnick/UCB,

Pat Proft (Writer, via Skype),

Jefferson Dutton (The Birthday Boys, IFC),

Joey Clift (UCB/Dreaded),

Richelle Meiss (UCB, CL, GiggleTits),

Soren Bowie (Cracked, Sr Writer/Editor; Sponsored Content)






5:15-7:15pm, Herscher Hall, Guerin A

Comedy Cocktail & LOLY Awards Party

Welcome - from David Zucker

• Circa Laughs ‘Board of Governors’ LOLY Award for Comedy Achievement

• 1st Annual LOLY AWARDS:

       Best Supercut or Original Sketch

       Best Song or Ad Parody

       Best Webisode or LIVE Show

       Best Special-Digital Effects/Animation/ Claymation/or Stop Motion

       Funniest Actor or Actress

       Funniest Group or Troupe


See Comedy Festival Video Nominees - Click Here

This page may load slowly - please be patient (lots of videos are on this page)